Poets logo

Persona Non Grata

A Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
2
An AI Generate Image

Genre theory doesn’t get much respect

But then again, what does at the moment?

It might be bright to history inspect

To find out what the thing’s name really meant

This is a lyric poem, after all

It could be accompanied by a lyre

But a further implication, recall:

That a persona speaks these words; no liar

Lyric poetry is not about you

The scribbler who marks it on the page

You wear a mask, concealed from others’ view

A character lets you speak truth on stage

Respect the mask: it ought to permit you

To say in public what you wish all knew

Sonnet
2

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Ward Norcutt14 days ago

    Interesting take... separating the writer from the words...it surely does allow licence. Great wordplay here. I find, no matter what I may have found in the writing, that I was the one doing the searching and it always leaves some part of me within it, bidden or not.

  • Loved it!

  • I kinda use that mask when I write some of my stories so this was very relatable. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.