Poets logo

Permanent Nostalgia

A poem by Rowan

By Rowan RileyPublished 4 months ago 1 min read

Everything was made of plastic

Rubber clothes to chew on

Legs swinging from a park bench

Waiting for your sister to be done playing

I was never like the other kids

Silly Bandz on my wrists, I didn't like the sensation

Buying marbles just for show, not knowing how to play the game

I'll race you to the back of the bus

I'll sip strawberry Nesquik out of a hard plastic cup

It's got a cartoon princess on the clear surface, and the rim is magenta

I'll drop a track in my Mickey Mouse CD player

I'll tug at the cheap yellow microphone, put on a show for no one

I always liked to be alone, and plastic makes the perfect companion

Do I miss it, the flashy colors and the synthetic texture?

Maybe it would be better to be more blatantly artificial

Everything's still made of plastic these days, but it could pass for raw material

My eyes are covered, I know nothing, and I'm more like a child than I ever was before

I want to go back to something soft and sweet and hard as plastic

I want to live in the grainy photographs

And let the fuzz of the old TV screen wash over me

vintagesocial commentaryMental Healthchildrens poetry

About the Creator

Rowan Riley

I've been writing since I was very young and am trying to put myself out there by sharing some of my works, both new and old.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rowan RileyWritten by Rowan Riley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.