Poets logo

Perhaps If Time Stood Still…

I Could Do All The Things

By Analise DionnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2021
52
Perhaps If Time Stood Still…
Photo by Jack Sharp on Unsplash

I don’t know how it happened

But I am 49.

I don’t know how it happened

But I am a grandmother.

I don’t know how it happened

But I’ve had to learn to say ‘I can’t.’

Once upon a time,

Before I was a 49 year old grandmother,

I thought I could do it all.

I thought I could make a difference.

I never noticed as I ran

Time was slipping away.

Life has been filled with

Moments of heartache and pain

Moments of stress and busy things

Moments of connection and peace

Moments of love and joy

Moments in which I wish time would stand still.

Perhaps if time stood still

I could finish with the busy things

Perhaps if time stood still

I could breathe my way through stress

Perhaps if time stood still

I could grieve through heartache

Perhaps if time stood still

I could purge all of the pain.

If time stood still

I would spend more time

Feeling the warmth in connection

Basking and soaking in

The peace, love and joy.

Hugging until our hearts beat in unison

Absorbing it all

Into every fiber of my being.

Sadly, time will not stand still

50 looms around the corner

I know that isn’t all that old

But it’s old enough

To have slowed me down

The busy things take longer now

Leaving me to wish

That time could stand still.

sad poetry
52

About the Creator

Analise Dionn

This life began with trauma. Now married, with 2 adult children and raising a grandchild with FASD/PTSD/ADHD. Navigating this very personal journey of healing with ADHD, thriving after a lifetime of abuse... all through the grace of God.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.