Poets logo

Perfusion

A Sestina

By J.MPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo: Marc Perkins / "Scouting Over The Edge"

They told me not to name the mouse.

That way, no tears would flow

When I stopped its heart beat;

Or when it writhed in pain,

Staring at me with glazed eyes –

Staring at me, betrayed.

That was the one rule I betrayed.

“Your name is Stripes,” I told the mouse,

Melted by his sparkling black eyes.

I traced the silky chocolate flow

Of his fur, taking great pain

To memorize the rhythmic beat

Of his warm pulse; each beat

Wavering the hand that betrayed

A syringe. Past squeaks of pain

I whispered falsehoods to my mouse;

His papery ears twitched to the flow

Of my breath as focus fled his eyes.

Later my deceitful Judas eyes

Watched his paws spasm, beating

The air; fighting the creeping flow

Of sedatives. Soon he would be trayed,

Skin flaps spread as I snapped tiny mouse

Ribs and spine. I was a bearer of pain

Sheltered behind a fume hood pane.

I crucified Stripes; his et tu Brute eyes

Watched me pin martyred mouse

Hands and feet. Razors and scissors beat

Flesh, each cut leaving more organs betrayed.

I slit the heart and watched the blood flow.

Pumping fixatives, I observed their slow flow

Bleach entrails. Only death would end the pain -

Staking procedure. Without emotion betrayed

They’d trade lives for nothing but practice, but I

Was an inadequate scientist told to beat

Back sobs and butcher a lab mouse.

Now, chemicals flow through veins past my passive eyes;

My steady hands stab needles into hearts that still beat.

For, I never betrayed Stripes — It was just a lab mouse.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.