Poets logo

Perfectly Matched

A poem about love at first sight

By Jennifer ChristiansenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
25
Peter and me shortly after we fell in love.

This poem is based on the true story of meeting my husband Peter on Match.com in 2003.

One of the pictures I had on my Match profile.

Using my middle name of Jane, I had a trial period on the site and searched all the profiles between Miami and Tampa (as I lived in Fort Myers, halfway between both major cities). I picked only two men out of the thousands - knowing exactly what I wanted - and started corresponding with both.

One of the photos on Peter's Match profile (taken at a barefoot waterski competition he entered)

I made a date with my husband first - and cancelled the date with the second directly after. We are still happily-ever matched.

The original journal entry (embarrassingly enough)

I waited outside Bacchus

as our emails had agreed

You knew me just as Jane

my middle name

and hadn’t heard my voice

I took care

a prairie dog

to win this game

or leave the Match

You struck

clothed in sunshine’s colors

as our eyes agreed

with the Florida sky

our photographs aligned

a strangely familiar

first Match

We drank one glass of wine or two

on the tiles as we had planned

spying in the crystal

the reflections of our lives

You, a world-wandering man

with passport black and blue

Merlot reds were the colors you saw

of me, drinking you

after a parting kiss I knew

I had met my Match

(…and I cancelled the other date)

The first picture taken of us together. A copy sits on our nightstand today.

love poems
25

About the Creator

Jennifer Christiansen

Animal advocate, traveler, and bibliophile. Lover of all things dark and romantic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.