Poets logo

Pepperoni, Cheddar Cheese, And Ritz Crackers

My Favorite Childhood Snack

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished about a month ago 1 min read
3
Pepperoni, Cheddar Cheese, And Ritz Crackers
Photo by Dan Dennis on Unsplash

One slice of meaty pepperoni,

And one slice of creamy cheddar cheese,

Between two crunchy and salty Ritz crackers.

***

Like a savory Oreo,

Only you can’t buy it preassembled.

***

No clue how I came to love this combo,

But my first memories of it were at a Girl Scout day camp I attended in the summer.

***

It was during snack time, of course.

We sat on the ground,

Enjoying the food our moms prepared for us.

***

I had the tastiest snack of all,

And even shared with a couple of girls,

Who enjoyed it greatly.

***

It always circles back to childhood,

Those foods we love or hate,

Doesn’t it?

***

As I write this,

I can’t help but crave this nostalgic treat.

Maybe someday I’ll once again indulge.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

Stream of Consciousness
3

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    That was a lovely piece. It sounds good to, like a mini,crunchy pizza. Well done.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    My husband loves Ritz and eats them with ice cream! I love them with cheese or with PB&J. Partake again, enjoy them!!

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    Great entry.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.