Poets logo

Penny Arcade

A New Life To Treasure

By Emily SpankfirstPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Penny Arcade

As I sit here reflecting…on past dark and dreary days,

I recall one instance in my life…that will never fade away.

Ambling through the darkness…to a kaleidoscope of flashing lights,

I inserted my penny in the slot…three bells to my delight.

Getting all excited…twenty one pennies my reward,

I looked to the heavens somewhat puzzled…and asked what’s this mean my Lord.

No answer was forthcoming…but it’s meaning was revealed,

With the sowing of the seed of life…and it’s bounteous yield.

On the 12th January 1986…my true reward came to pass,

With three bells of 24carat gold…not silver…copper or brass.

For Lee was born into the world…a baby that only the Lord could supply,

With a heart of pure gold and love for all…that will surely never die.

A rough diamond in the worldly crown…polished over the years,

As he persevered through life’s trials…and the shedding of many tears.

No longer dark and dull…but a brilliant…sparkling jewel,

Who is loving…kind and caring…but certainly nobody’s fool.

Twenty one years later…a penny for every year,

As I thank my Lord for his great blessing…and shed a quiet tear.

For the Lord acts in mysterious ways…as his holy words convey,

His wonders to perform…with great rewards in everyway.

Reflecting on my blessing…Lee remains one of the best,

As he has proved to one and all…that he has stood life’s test.

No longer my baby boy…but a man who has made the grade,

No greater reward could I have…for playing life’s penny arcade.

© Suzanne Marcuslee 2007

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emily Spankfirst

Born into a world of swinging on a grand scale back in the nineteen fifties I developed an over active mind for all things erotic and started out on a quest to share some inspiration with my fellow human beings through my tales of lust.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.