Poets logo

Peasant Surprise

A memory reborn again

By Tinka Boudit She/HerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Unsplash Image - Gio Bartlett

Hands in my pockets strolling along,

This village is alive, I know her song.

A laugh to be had, a friend to be made,

Some how this memory will not fade.

A costumed peasant, I blend right in.

My soul glows in this second skin.

Turkey legs, bread bowls, mead around.

"Huzzah. Yea Verily. For sooth," the sound.

Yet sneakers, khaki shorts, a plaid shirt clad

Dark hair, olive eyes and skin he had.

Had I seen his face first, silent I would remain.

Yet his plaid shirt is where my eyes first lain.

"What have you done to your kilt!" I gasp.

"Ironed out the pleats, and you added snaps!"

"You've split two holes for your arms," so taught.

Those muscular arms I want to lick. I thought.

Glowing face, beaming smile, bright eyes,

A booming laugh, pure joy, to my surprise.

So struck by beauty all I could do was smile,

I bought our house and named our first child.

We kept our paces, we both walked on,

The moment was forever, the moment was gone.

A true renaissance, I was reborn present-past

I clutched my chest, it wasn't meant to last.

Remember me beautiful man, I won't forget you.

Your smile, hair, eyes; your kilt split in two.

The years come and gone, his face disdained.

But the flutter, our words, the memory remained.

Had I seen his face first no words would have been said.

No exchange of glances, or laughs, or faces red.

Once more, I smile, laugh, sigh, and clutch my chest.

Goodbye beautiful man this memory laid to rest.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Tinka Boudit She/Her

contact on FB & IG

linktr.ee/tinkaboudit

The Soundtrack BOI: WA

FP

Bette On It: Puddle, Desks, Door, Gym, Condoms, Couch, Dancers, Graduate.

Purveyor of Metaphorical Hyperbole, Boundless, Ridiculous, Amazing...and Humble.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.