Poets logo

Peasant Life

A Day in Dreams

By Calista Marchand-NazzaroPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
3
Peasant Life
Photo by Zwaddi on Unsplash

If only there were no dimes,

I would kick back and watch the sun move across the sky.

If only I had the time.

I could spend the morning on a rhyme,

Investigate the answers to every “why?,”

If only there were no dimes.

If I so desired, I could learn the art of mime.

But I am far too busy to even try.

If only I had the time.

I could get off of this ladder I’m forced to climb,

Not feel guilty to take a breath and just sigh,

If only there were no dimes.

If the feeling struck me, I would spend an evening listening to the wind chimes chime,

Painting a portrait of the moon up high,

If only I had the time.

Living life wouldn’t be a crime,

We would channel our energy into our passions before we die,

If only there were no dimes.

If only I had the time.

sad poetryVillanellesocial commentary
3

About the Creator

Calista Marchand-Nazzaro

Always learning and always evolving. I’m a creative, an idea person, a thinker, a dreamer, and working on being a doer. Many interests. Varied content. Food. Sustainability. Comedy. Poetry. Music.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    That was exceptionally well written.

  • Gosh this was extremely relatable! Loved your Villanelle!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.