Poets logo

Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Too good to be good for you.

By Phil FlanneryPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
6

Steal a loaf if you must

Be sure it has a crunchy crust

squishy white, slices or bun

Grainy, healthy, should be shunned

***

Yellow goodness, nature’s sweet

Are you ready? Time to eat

Not too green and not too ripe

You gotta get the timing right

***

Grab the jar down from the shelf

I could eat it all myself

Sticky brown, sounds just gross

It’s the spread I love the most

Stick my finger in the jar

Don’t let Mum see where you are

***

Now that you have all the bits

Time is nigh, to assemble it

Smother slices nice and thick

Thick enough to make it stick

Slice bananas, plonk them on

Too much ‘nana’ is never wrong

No time now to make it regal

How is such a concoction legal

Squish it down, salty sweet,

Still my favourite snack-time treat

For Fun
6

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    I have never been able to get into those! PB on a piece of banana, but not inside bread. Nice job!

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    This entry's great, it made me sing. PNB goes with everything!

  • Phil Flannery (Author)about a month ago

    Oh no. This is still my favourite weird snack food. I often have it for lunch at home. Weird fact; I have two daughters, one likes banana but hates peanut butter, the other is the opposite. I can use it like Kryponite if i don't want to talk to them. Thanks for reading

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Bleurgh. I like banana. I like peanut butter. I do not combine. Great poem though!

  • I don't like fruits except bananas, watermelon and mango. But I need to eat these as they are, not as a combination with something else. For example, I don't like banana split. I've tried banana and peanut butter sandwich and I didn't enjoy it. Guess I'm a picky eater 😅 But I always try something before knocking it. Loved your poem!

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Such fun it shouldn't be legal!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.