Poets logo

Peanut

A free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
5
Peanut
Photo by Fidias Cervantes on Unsplash

You're delicious

like a honeyed, cinnamon sprinkled peanut.

The sight of you

makes me want to run

to the convenience store

to pick up

some honey drizzled, cinnamon sprinkled peanuts.

Your smile is contagious.

I smile right back at you.

You're my honey drizzled, cinnamon sprinkled peanut,

my special, succulent, scrumptious honey drizzled, cinnamon sprinkled peanut

that I get to indulge in

every day and night

from afar.

I'll keep coming for extras,

because you won't stop

making my mouth water.

Your distant presence

makes my belly growl

for more handfuls

of honey drizzled, cinnamon sprinkled peanuts.

One, micro handful

of honey drizzled, cinnamon sprinkled peanuts

will NEVER be enough

to keep my belly quiet.

The bigger the handfuls,

the sweeter and tastier they'll be.

Than my belly

will finally shut up!

By Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my free verse poems. If you enjoyed reading this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment, and please feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more poetry, recipes, stories, and much more!

Please feel free to stay in touch with me!

IG: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

Baba Keji, the palace servant of the Oyo palace in Nigeria. He's the subject of this poem. Photo retrieved from www.guardian.ng via Google Images.

Author's note: To learn more about Baba Keji, please watch the following YouTube video. The video is in Yoruba (a Nigerian dialect spoken by people of the Yoruba tribe) with English subtitles.

love poemssurreal poetryperformance poetry
5

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Chloe Gilholyabout a year ago

    I love peanuts.

  • Lilly Cooperabout a year ago

    Now I want some nuts...

  • I could say you're nuts. but a great poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.