Poets logo

Pathways Home

Home is where the heart is

By Trudi StaceyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

To write is to right

To wrong is to wrong

So these are my words

And this is my song

The melody they play to

Is for one with a good ear

To not listen carefully

A different song you may hear

A chosen direction

Is yours when you’re born

It accompanies you

At your first break of dawn

For reasons unknown to us

A path will be taken

I pray you realise it’s purpose

Before it is forsaken

We’re all given life

This much is true

What you do along you journey

Is still up to you

Adoption makes you question

Your path from the start

It was that way, now it’s this way

This is no work of art

Who am I, who was I

And who will I be

So many damn questions

And this is just three

Like a jigsaw of pieces

Just thrown in the air

You may at best catch a handful

And that just isn’t fair

You try and put them together

But there is no picture to see

A disjointed rubble

Is the reflection of me

Saddened and disgruntled

For all that is unknown

A mere file in some building

If it’s not already been thrown

The anger, the frustration

The hurt and the pain

The fire that rages through my body

I am forced to contain

The lies and deception

Come from those for whom we vote

They lay their heads on their pillows

As I struggle to remain afloat

Near fifty years have passed

Still no answers appear

Every emotion known to man

I have felt very clear

Yet, I’m not bitter nor twisted

Nor broken inside

Because I was raised by two parents

And I was raised with pride

It’s been a hell of a journey

For all those I hold dear

I love you and I miss you

And I hope you can hear

From the day you first saw me

From when you heard my first cry

You knew you’d raise me with love

Until the day you should die

My Mother was the last to pass

And on her death bed as she lay

We spoke of our lives together

This is what she had to say

My girl you are everything

There is no more to discover

Your Dad, you and me

We were made for each other

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.