Poets logo

Patchwork Quilt

Broken Apart Dreams and Fractured Stories

By Poppy Published 9 months ago 1 min read
16
Image Created on Midjourney

What is love?

I lose my breath

When I look at him

And fail to breathe

When he’s gone

He is the air

In my lungs

And the oxygen

That is ripped from them

What is love?

The earth is tilting

Blurring

Breaking

Everything is crumbling

Around me but

It looks like a mosaic

A patchwork quilt

What is love?

I still remember

When he called me

Beautiful

Somehow they seemed

Like the only words

That would ever matter

But nothing feels as beautiful

As this feeling

What is love?

I’ve loved before

Loved deeply

Intensely

Endlessly

But now it all seems

Galaxies away

My old loves are

Unfamiliar

Unimportant

Unmemorable

They are nothing

Compared to him

He is so much more

And he makes me

Feel like more

What is love?

I’ve never wished for

The power of healing

Until I saw his broken pieces

The ones covering the floor

Soaked in blood

A mosaic, a patchwork quilt

I want to tell him but

He is in too many pieces to hear

What is love?

It feels like beauty, tragedy

Broken apart dreams

And fractured stories

It feels like storms and

Droughts and hurricanes

My hands shake

And my mind races

And I’m a little scared

Of losing something (someone)

I don’t even have

Maybe a lot scared

Love

A fear

A promise

A wish

What is love?

I’m not sure

I don’t know

But I think it has

Something to do with him

And the euphoria I feel when

I look into his eyes

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this poem check out the one below:

Edit: Story was republished to change cover image.

love poems
16

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Test9 months ago

    I could read you all day , everyday! Another beautifully touching piece. X Thank you 🤍

  • Very poignant

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Love is a beautiful tragedy, I agree! How lovely it is that we all cling to one another in love as we hurtle toward the 'end'.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    THIS stanza: "What is love? I’ve never wished for The power of healing Until I saw his broken pieces The ones covering the floor Soaked in blood A mosaic, a patchwork quilt I want to tell him but He is in too many pieces to hear" Omg. The most visceral description of someone being emotional broken I think I've ever seen. I adore your creative mind, Poppy. Also, I think the way you ended it, so simply with "I'm not sure, I don't know, but I think it has something do with the euphoria I feel when I look into his eyes" --- that tone shift away from those dark and deep examples of love -- works so well. A breather from the depth of the emotion that came before. Like ascending up from a strenuous hike (or something. Sorry, words are escaping me here!). 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

  • Ahna Lewis9 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • I’ve never wished for The power of healing Until I saw his broken pieces These lines resonated so deeply with me because sometimes I just feel so useless when I can see what's broken but can't fix it. Loved your poem so much!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great poem!

  • You have captured the intangibility of the subject so well, something we seem to experience but can never quite grasp. And do we even know it when we see it?

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I have experienced love like this, so I can relate to the message. You wrote a masterpiece. Thank you!

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Oh, wow, so beautiful. Did a great job, Poppy

  • Bri Craig9 months ago

    Wow - this poem genuinely gave me goosebumps!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.