Poets logo

Past Violent, Only Violet Now

From Sacred Dawn to Lonely End

By Kendra AdamsPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Past violent,

only violet now,

the lavender lies we lay.

Forgotten is the fight

and our fists remain buried;

we realize the Earth may never be home again.

Second chances at birth only happen so often,

and some days i believe mine has come and gone with you.

But the soil still breathes and the winds whisper confidence

so I pollinate our promises.

I attempt to use the sonnets of springtime to speak to your far-away heart.

But I long for you still.

Fidgeting fingers of roots please shake me!

Perhaps the pulse of pavement will wake me?

In the end it’s no use.

The house we’re building is vacant.

Unless Patience becomes my name.

Your sacred dawn will come.

My lonely night

will end.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Kendra Adams

I like words. I like dogs. I like to travel. I'm into outdoor adventuring, behavior analysis, linguistics, and Netflix-binging.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.