Poets logo

Past Times

Mindful Memories

By Jim BradleyPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

Fleeting shadow-memories slip, wraith-like o'er my mind

of people, places, special times that, now, are far behind

half-remembered conversations, from balmy sleepless nights

and the madness fuelled emotion, in heated verbal fights

A nigh forgotten face returns, seen through the veil of years

mainly happy, sometimes stern, but ne'er filled with tears

different places, different times, each with their tale to tell

of times when I soared to the heights, or sometimes, where I fell

Sometimes a smell, maybe a touch, or even just a look

detailing every turn I made and every step I took

recording all I ever gave and all that I received

noting each direction, in this life, I've weaved

Mistakes I made, what I achieved, comes back for just a while

and what I worried over then, now just makes me smile

on what I thought I always knew, I now may have to guess

as time and distance seem to make my wisdom, somehow less

Though now I may know more, than when I first arrived

much of what I've learned has already died

the age that lies within my bones is still yet, undefined

for I'm as young as ever, (at least within my mind)

The goals and dreams I cherished, have not yet gone away

but simply wait 'in storage', for another day

while I try to remember, but find myself resigned

to fleeting shadow-memories that slip, wraith-like, o'er my mind.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jim Bradley

Happily married, published author and Scottish ex-pat, living and working in PA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.