Poets logo

Past Life

The Stars that Defy Us

By A. R. AmbrosiPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I told you I'd meet you here

Maybe you don't remember

But I do

We walked a familiar path

At midnight

Lined with rose hedges

As wild and unchecked

As our passion was

I promised you

I made you promise me

Because

We knew we'd soon

Be divided

They told us

We were starcrossed

Everyone warned us

We didn't listen

We didn't want to believe

But fate told us the story

That was written in the stars

We didn't want to hear it

But it was all preordained

I remember

How you gave me a rose

And its thorn pricked me

And stained the white petals

Red

It was an omen

And I knew the end

Must be soon

So I told you

Where

We would meet

How confused you were

Because it wasn't a where

But a when

I told you

I'd find you

In the next life

And the one after that

And all that followed that one

I promised you

We wouldn't be starcrossed

Forever

I swore

We would break

The damnable spell

The stars placed on us

Even if I

Had to change the stars

Myself

And rewrite fate

Maybe in this life I have

But if I haven't

I'll meet you

In the next life

To continue rearranging

The stars that defy us

love poems
Like

About the Creator

A. R. Ambrosi

I like to write, if that makes me a writer, then rock on!

I started writing as a child because I ran out of stuff to read. So, I only write stuff that I like. If you like it too, awesome! Enjoy! ^_^

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.