Poets logo

Passion

I burned for you

By Nina PiercePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Passion
Photo by Cullan Smith on Unsplash

Passion.

Some days, I feel that word is overrated. I mean, what is passion? Who defines it?

Passion; feels like an all-consuming fire that envelops all your hopes and dreams. It can burn as brightly as you want it, or it can burn down everything you were working towards. Even though we strive for passion, passion can kill us. It's not always worth it, even when it feels like it is.

Because I was passionate about you. And you were passionate about me. At least I thought you were. I could've sworn that for the last five years of our lives, we were in love and passionate about each other - that nothing could separate us. But I was wrong.

For months you had me fooled; fooled into thinking that you were giving me all of you. For months, you lied not only to me, but our friends and our family. You were living a different life outside of our regularly scheduled programming. A two-faced manipulator that lurked the streets and preyed on anything with a pulse.

And the moment I found out about the other person, you tried to turn it all on me. About how I neglected you, about how I mistreated you, about how I controlled you. You were throwing out accusations as if they were going out of style, and some of these were things you'd never brought up during our time together. For someone who preached communication to others, you never communicated how you were really feeling to me for over a year.

I wanted to work it out. Why; I'll never understand. I wanted you, only you. I dreamt of us growing old together, dying together like that couple from The Notebook but instead I'm here trying to mend a broken heart and you're off doing who knows what or who.

And now I see you only when I have to. But all I see is a stranger, a stranger who knows all my secrets. You were the love of my life, my everything, my soulmate but I guess you were just a soulmate who wasn't meant to be.

So, yeah, passion. It can kill. Because I was passionate about you, but you were passionate about other things, and oh, how our fires burned brightly. But while I was burning for you, you were burning down everything that connected us.

Just a stranger, a stranger who can break my heart. I can try with all my might to forget your name, but you branded it to my heart.

heartbreaksad poetry

About the Creator

Nina Pierce

just a lonely cat girl, pursuing a masters in counseling

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nina PierceWritten by Nina Pierce

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.