Poets logo

Parting Waters

A Flashku

By Naw KanPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
3

The cool of her silky liquid is healing to me, fusing with that deepest part which only she could touch.

I tell her how I’ve missed her, how thankful I am to return.

“I love you,” I whisper.

She responds by demonstrating her power, quickly rising in anger of my neglect.

As her wave furiously charges towards me, towering above my head I whisper to her I’m sorry.

“Don’t break. Not. Yet.”

Not yet

She mercifully obliges, parting ways. Her lines forming a deep V directly before me, crashing either side but allowing me through.

Up and over.

My privilege.

This was inspired by Cendrine’s post An Emotional Moment in Nature.

The challenge is to write a Flashku. I quote Cendrine below;

The Flashku is a form of "poetic fiction" that I created in 2021. This short piece of flash fiction (50–100 words) is inspired by and features an image. It contains minimal descriptions and uses seven words borrowed from another written piece (fiction, novel, poem, newspaper article...). The climax should be reached at about 80% through the story (not a strict rule, though), while the ending must contain a positive / inspirational twist or resolution.

As this was a very last minute find and entry, I wrote this before realising I needed an image and a reference. However, it was easy to find a photograph which matched the image in my mind. The memory of wading out to the ocean, with a surf board under my arm. I was describing this memory exactly. My conversations with the ocean would indeed go something like this. And when I describe the waters parting upon my request, they truly did.

These moments were some of my first introductions to the true magic of nature (and us). It was the start of a whole new level of understanding for me in regards to how we can communicate and influence each other in such ways. Surfing for me was about exploring this relationship with the ocean. When I learned how to listen, she would direct me exactly where I needed to be. I was always the least experienced in the water, and yet always perfectly placed as the waves rolled in. It reached a point I could paddle out to the big sets with my hair completely dry, knowing exactly when to wait and when to paddle. And she would always part ways for me and let me bounce up and over with ease.

The line I speak to her? Not Yet. These words always carried the memory of the Hans Zimmer track Now We Are Free from the movie Gladiator. The music played in my mind whilst wading out towards the waves. Of course the other words are an interpretive translation from the original to English.

[The original is actually written in a made up language by writer Lisa Gerard, who received significant recognition for the song. The album sountrack, composed by Zimmer and Gerard won an Academy Award. It is a truly stunning piece of music.]

*****

Small note! I overlooked Cendrine’s brief of the reference being a written piece of work. An oversight in my rush for this last minute (actually, past the deadline) entry! So this is NOT a Flashku! Check out Cendrine’s article linked above to explore what a Flashku truly is. Next time I will not be rushing 🙈❤️✨🙏

Although…

I wouldn’t have written this without the prompt and time presssure, and I’m so happy with how it turned out.

As Bob Ross would say, there are no mistakes, just a happy accidents! ❤️😇

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Naw Kan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    Nice one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.