Poets logo

Parting

A sweet sorrow

By Vicious AvaricePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2

Parting is a sweet sorrow

That hopes more for tomorrow

Than it cares for yesterday,

But,

It fills me with questions

Whose answers would only rend

The things I did for you

When exhausted beyond reason

They way I put you first

Placing me last to do it

Did they register even once

When the dice came tumbling down

Was the love you felt for me

Only ever in my own eyes?

But the harshest truth I seek only in whispers

As it paralyzes me to touch

So simple, but so painful

How long did you laugh at my dreams

While seeking your own?

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Vicious Avarice

The ramblings of a man obsessed with fate. Poetry, quotes, and inspiration. I am a published author who rides the beast of imagination. A storyteller. Check out my children’s book “The Christmas Monster” on Amazon or wherever books are sold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    "But the harshest truth I seek only in whispers" - amazing lines!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.