Poets logo

Parsley

For Caroline Jane's VSS Haiku Challenge

By Kendall Defoe Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
17
Parsley
Photo by Alex Kondratiev on Unsplash

I am not sure I got the idea completely right, but I will try...

You here, so quiet...

Finer foods surpass your touch.

Bitter and needed.

So much to take from so little...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

inspirationalsocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryhumorfact or fiction
17

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Lena Folkert8 months ago

    Lol! I love this. Parsley is one of my favorites! I make tabouleh all the time! YUM! Well done!!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Fantastic! ❤️

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Just like the humble parsley, the beautiful simplicity of this poem packs a mighty punch. True haiku essence ❤️

  • Míriam Guasch8 months ago

    Great job!

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Nice work!

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Good one, Kendall! I’m a big Parsley fan!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Nice one.

  • Oooo, I actually love parsley! Great choice!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Super!!! Loved this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Oh! Enigmatic parsley hey! I like it... I like it a lot!!! Thanks for playing along. 🥰

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    I have a certain fondness for parsley. Possibly quite the superfood, if we ate more of it, eh?

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    I like parsley flavor-can't stand cilantro

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    An essential ingredient in "green" borsch.

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    It makes a lovely garnish

  • would we call this bitter-sweet?

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    I only like parsley for the way it decorates and elevates my dishes. I don’t like its taste though. Great haiku.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.