Poets logo

Paradox of Self

dig until you hear a scraping noise

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1

you wouldn't like me

if you met me

i'm all over the place

like a madwoman’s shit

you’re more likely forget me

but then

that’s your problem not mine

i like to think

i'm somewhat amicable

and every time

i get myself together

i come apart

i can be a jovial chap

(but i’m full of crap)

i can be a pleasant fellow

(don't kibosh my mellow)

i'm just another ordinary human being

(don’t know what you're seeing)

i like me

(mostly)

and that

to me

is fine

but then somedays

i can be

my own worst enemy

but again

that's entirely

up to me

my moods

are mine to choose

and most of the time

i choose not to lose

i choose not to abuse

i choose the right

i choose the wrong

but at the end of the day

the choice was mine

and i

have to live with that

my heart is just a muscle

and i

have to give with that

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.