Poets logo

Palms of Red

I told a joke once that I didn't understand

By david lovePublished 8 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
3

Hold my palm

and prick three veins

to let my blood ford the future

in streams thick with laughter

Now set the sun

soak my eyes in orange loneliness

no, please-

I promise I won’t blink

if you lift just a little higher

I told a joke once

that I didn’t understand:

wherever you go there’s a hole

but nobody laughed

so I didn’t ask

if I left one behind

or marched our silence down inside

But it’s dark as dead ink

and your eyes are the lighthouse

behind blinding black moons

blotting bleeding coastlines jeweled

with red shipwrecked salvation

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

david love

Part-time accountant, former disaster relief project supervisor, wanna-be writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem! Fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.