Poets logo

Palace of Peace

Glimpses

By J.M. PowellPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Palace of Peace
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

I am not there yet

You teleport me there

Briefly

In the moments

I look into your eyes

Amber like embers of a log cabin fire

Nestled under a snowy blanket outside

Cozy inside, your eyes brim with words

From an ink well that never runs dry

Never perfect

The best frustration

***

There is a castle for us

At the beach

Close to the water

My favorite vision of us takes place there

We are under silk white sheets

In a tall white tent

One doorway flap is tied open

The other flaps in the wind

Those embers in your eyes

Are painted across the sky

Golden caramel splashed in creamy swirls upon dark chocolate ascending

Your eyes are understanding me

You chose to try

I slip my hand inside

Your white silk button down shirt

Resting it upon your neck

As we lean in to kiss

***

In your eyes

I see who I have always been

Coming out to thrive

I see what I am meant to be for the one for me

You are the catalyst

Made for me

So I could take glimpses of peace

On my way there permanently

love poems
2

About the Creator

J.M. Powell

You can make anything by writing. -C.S. Lewis

My passion is to spread what it means to love.

My published books of poetry: Quantum Leap Overmorrow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.