Poets logo

painted dawn

unique daily artwork | courtesy of the sun

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
11
painted dawn
Photo by Ferdinand Stöhr on Unsplash

illuminate splashes

methodically

s p r e a d

dimming night’s

silvery

s h i n e

starlight surrenders

to a

colorful

p a l a t e

one twinkle

at a

t i m e

//

golden hue

shimmering

below the

h o r i z o n

slowly infusing

the essence

of

d a w n

heavens glaze

the

billowing

c l o u d s

with a colorful

celestial

y a w n

//

gradient atmospheric

t r a n s f o r m a t i o n s

stroked by a

gliding brush of

r a y s

artistic

expressions

of the

l i g h t

unveiling a

brand new

d a y

******************************

If you love the sunshine, check out the following pieces—

One of my own that inspired this one, written for the tautogram challenge:

And two faves, written by two amazing humans:

Golden Hour by Dana Crandell

Caffeinated Kiss by Cathy Holmes

*Noting that Cathy also talks about the sky yawning, which I didn’t realize until I just went back to re-read, so I'm giving her all the credit for lodging that one in my brain.

artnature poetryinspirational
11

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    It sure is a palette Kristen! I love your phrasing celestial yawn! 🥱☺️How good is caffeinated kiss! I loved Dana’s. I just can’t remember it very well. Let me take a peak again. He’s such sick rhymer! Sorry I missed this beautiful little piece earlier!!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    KRISTEN!! This is just - amazing and beautiful. You never fail to compliment me on my nature poetry, and then you put out this masterpiece. I am so blown away by your unique phrases, like, "with a colorful celestial y a w n" Absolutely perfect, my friend, and thank you so much for the link!

  • Sunrise, sunset, two of the most beautiful & welcoming moments of the day, one for awakening, one for rest. You've captured the beginning so beautifully, Kristen.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Just. yeah. Take the flaily face, pal. Take it and hold it up high. Sterling work.

  • slowly infusing the essence of d a w n heavens glaze the billowing c l o u d s with a colorful celestial y a w n This was my favouriteeee part! I also loved spreading dimming night's silvery shine. Your poem was breathtakingly beautiful! I freaking loved it so much!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is gorgeous. Thanks for the shoutout, but I'm laughing. I was about to (and still will) comment on the beautiful vision of heaven yawning. I completely forgot about Caffeinated Kiss with the sky yawning, or daylight yawning, or whatever. I have no idea what I wrote. lmao.

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    💙💚Beautiful

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    Loveeeeeeeeee!!! That yawn line stood out to me too! I can see how it caught in our brains 😍😁

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    Your poetry style is a breath of fresh air.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.