Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

PAINFUL.

By Ross E F Lombardi

By Ross E Fortune LombardiPublished 19 days ago 3 min read

.

PAINFUL.

By

Ross E F Lombardi

.

Couple half 1

“They do not trust me”

.

Couple half 2

“I do not trust Them.”

.

Couple half 1

“I wished that they trusted me.”

.

Couple half 2

“I wish I could trust them.”

.

BOTH:

“Do they still love me?”

.

Couple half 2

“Maybe they never loved me?”

.

Couple half 1

“Maybe they do not love me?”

.

Couple half 2

“Why are they out all the time?”

.

Couple half 1

“I need some advice from some friends!”

.

Couple half 2

“The doubt is agonising.”

.

Couple half 1

“My friends said they are a good person,

“That they are just a little insecure.”

“We should talk out and work through it together.”

.

Couple half 2

“Are they really with their friends?”

“Or are their friends just covering for them?”

“Their friends never really liked me!”

.

Couple half 1

“I tried to talk.”

“How the hell did THAT turn into an argument?!”

“What the fuck!?”

.

Couple half 2

“I feel it in my gut”

“They are lying”

“I am not an idiot!”

.

Couple half 1

“They are a fucking idiot!”

.

Couple half 2

“They are out again!”

.

Couple half 1

“I need to tell my friends about this!”

.

Couple half 2

“Why can they not just be honest with me?”

.

Couple half 1

“My friends are not so sure about them anymore…”

.

Couple half 2

“We need to hash this out.”

“NOW!”

.

Couple half 1

“This is just my anger talking”

“I do still love them really!”

“I just need a little space to cool off and gain some perspective”

.

Couple half 2

“Now they have gone all quiet and avoiding me!”

“They are hiding the truth from me”

“They won’t tell me about what is really going on!

.

Couple half 1

“WHAT THE HELL!”

.

Couple half 2

“WHAT THE FUCK!”

.

Couple half 1

“WHAT A TOTAL SHIT HEAD!””

.

Couple half 2

“WHAT A TOTAL CUNT!”

.

BOTH:

“WHO THE HELL DO THEY THINK THEY ARE!”

.

Couple half 1

“Wait till all my friends hear about this!”

“My Friends were all so very wrong about them!”

“I was so very wrong about them!”

.

Couple half 2

“There they go!”

“Storming out again!”

“Like a spineless coward”

“Probably straight into the arms of, whatever the hell it is, that they are screwing”

.

Couple half 1

“My friends had to admit that they were wrong”

“That maybe I should dump that jealous ass now!”

“It is going to be hard”

“Part of me still loves them”

.

Couple half 2

“I bet it’s their friends that fixed them up with a new person,”

“Because they thought it would be funny!”

“None of them are faithful to their own partners”

“Now they dragged my lover down to their level”

“My ‘other half’ told me about the crazy stuff they do behind their partner's backs!”

“That’s what made me question shit in the first place!”

“Why could they not just love me?”

.

BOTH:

“I am worried

“I am scared!”

“I don’t want to lose them!”

.

Couple half 1

“Love should not be THIS…”

.

Couple half 2

“They should not make it SO…”

.

BOTH <Loudly>:

“PAINFUL!”

.

Couple half 1

“They do not trust me”

.

Couple half 2

“I do not trust Them.”

.

Couple half 1

“I wished that they trusted me.”

.

Couple half 2

“I wish I could trust them.”

.

.

Couple half 1

“They do not trust me anymore”

.

Couple half 2

“I cannot trust them anymore.”

.

Couple half 1

“I wished that they could have loved and trusted me.”

.

Couple half 2

“I wish that they could have been trusted and loved me.”

.

BOTH:

“Will they hurt me?”

“The way all the others have before?!”

“I am not a bad person!”

“I deserve to be loved!?”

“Don’t I?”

“SO?!”

“Why is this happening to me?

“Again…?”

.

performance poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Ross E Fortune Lombardi

Writer. Gamer, Goth

A (Constantly Failing To Be Funny) satirist!

[email protected]

Mutare non est meum

Cantus moriar

BLOG:

http://lombot.co.uk

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Manisha Dhalani18 days ago

    Familiar conversations :) Good poem.

  • Oooo, I loved how intense this was. Well done!

Ross E Fortune LombardiWritten by Ross E Fortune Lombardi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.