Poets logo

Pain And Addiction: Opioids One After The Other - Why

It Wasnt Working - I Wasnt Functioning ?

By Cathy DeslippePublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2
Pain And Addiction: Opioids One After The Other - Why
Photo by Muhammad Hicham on Unsplash

The early 2000s is the time frame.

After the car accident, I was never the same.

Flipped and Tossed,

You never really get over it, you feel lost.

The pain was getting bad.

So doctors prescribed opioids, which is sad.

Every time it got worse.

More opioids, the curse.

It got to the point where I couldn't do it anymore.

Called an amazing doctor, who helped me at the door.

Had a bed waiting for me to heal.

It wasn't easy, goodbye to every pill.

The doctor was doing his job, a pill to help you heal.

Now it isn't like that, now that's a big deal.

My recovery took time and a lot of rehab.

It never should have happened, it's sad.

So why is the world filled with so many opioids today?

Where are they coming from, wish they would stay away.

Reaching out to those who need the pill.

There is hope, you want to get better, stop being ill.

Some good people can help you.

Reach out, they will show you what to do,

Take it from me life gets better, you will see.

You and I will be free.

By Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    So sorry for what happened to you 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️ Your poem was very hopeful and optimistic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.