Poets logo

Overcome

through the seasons

By Dale KingPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

We struggle to overcome our sadness,

We hope that in time, the madness - goes away

That dark, will give way - to light -

and that morning will make it through the night.

We struggle, to not forget, that through which we have been -

Each ridiculous moment - each scene.

Now stuck in a loop.

Now stuck in our tracks.

And I'm sorry for the cracks...

The holes through which we fall, looking for soft places,

trying to feel safe in our familiar spaces.

I'm not sorry for the cracks in faces, that tell stories of grief.

The grief, is what traces me back to you.

The grief reminds me what I meant to you,

and what you mean to us.

Now as each day ends, and we are left to think of what was,

I find the gladness

In what we had. Yes.

We had you.

We had you and it was great.

We had you and now we miss you.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Dale King

I live in Halifax Nova Scotia, where I am studying Geography at Saint Mary's University. Storytelling is my favourite way to spend my time, whether alone or in a crowd - Entertaining people with tales about my life; soft or strange.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.