Poets logo

Outside

A time during lockdown.

By Holly SheridanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Outside
Photo by Will Paterson on Unsplash

A few times a day i visit

a spot outside my front door

smile at people walking past

the tightness of feeling trapped

we’re all trying to ignore

As weeks have turned to months

I take my daily walk

Headphones in

Monotone beat of a welcoming voice

I see the subtleties of people losing their minds

Watching a guy doing 50 press ups

Two neighbours over fences drinking wine

And I remind myself to be kind

To myself first

Because my mind tends to be mean

When it comes to thoughts concerning me

And to others

Who maybe just need to be seen

A guy walking his dog

Throwing a rock he found on the ground

A brief glimpse of eye contact

That wanted to be found

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.