Poets logo

Out Cast

a villanelle

By Morgana MillerPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Villanelle Challenge
18
wherein i read it to you

suppose unbelonging had a color

a wrongful grayish hue

with half the value night falls under:

.

dark dim horizoned star in wonder

of an elusive whitelight moon,

unbelonging might be a color

.

shaded bad like clouds that thunder

in crayon boxes, skirting blues,

with half the value night falls under

.

missable beside “cornflower,”

called “notenough” or “leadballoon,”

‘cause if unbelonging was a color

.

it’d be named worse than all the others

and clash each time you drew

with half the value night falls under.

.

but whenever you felt strange, asunder

you’d plainly see I’m painted too

with unbelonging as a color,

half the value night falls under.

sad poetry
18

About the Creator

Morgana Miller

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Alison McBain4 months ago

    Really amazing! Congrats on placing.

  • Natalie Wilkinson4 months ago

    Congratulations ! A thoughtfully written piece.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Congratulations, Morgana! This was simply divine. I read it first then listened to the audio reading. It completely blew the first reading off the charts for me. I may have to try this because hearing the words read out loud gave it a deeper feel! Well done, indeed!

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    I ejnoyed the varations on the first line as this progressed! Beautifully penned and read! Congratulations on placing!

  • Alison Brooke4 months ago

    Very insightful! Congrats

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    Congrats! Such cleverly crafted lines and a brilliant concept! I was in awe!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Back to say, congrats on placing!

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    Goodness. Not sure how I missed this. Glorious. Congratulations. 🥰

  • I love this, Morgan, especially as you've adapted the villanelle form by referencing rather than repeating the first line. I'm not sure it will qualify for the challenge, but I really do like it this way. (Not to mention, what a voice! Thank you for reading it for us.)

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    Your voice 🤯 Goodness! Simply gorgeous! This is an incredible masterpiece of a villanelle… I’m smitten. The flow and rhythm are perfect–the way each word rolls so beautifully when read out loud, and the incredible message. Beautiful work! Missed you around here! 💫💞

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Oh my...your voice. This is an awesome piece. Loved it and the added dimension of your voice brought it to life. I have a slight editorial thing...that I won't say unless you say it's okay...don't wanna be "that guy" in an unsolicited way. lol.

  • Davina Zinn McKee5 months ago

    Have you ever heard a song and felt like the singer/songwriter must’ve created it just for you? I haven’t felt that since I was a teenager, but had a similar sensation listening to this. Gray is my favorite color, and I’d probably be labeled ‘leadballon’ — or ‘gunmetal’ or ‘thundercloud’. Also, you have a great voice. 👏🏻

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.