Poets logo

Our Story

I will never regret it.

By Amber GracePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
a rose among other things

"To live in this world you must be able to do three things: to love what is mortal; to hold it against your bones knowing your own life depends on it; and, when the time comes to let it

go,

to let it go." - Mary Oliver, In Backwater Woods

I am not the villain of your story

You aren’t that in mine.

I hope that if you’re reading (seeing) this

You know that we are fine.

I hope you’re caring for yourself

and, maybe, started saying no

to things that jeapordize your health

or make you feel like you can’t grow.

I hope that when you think of me

it’s mostly happy thoughts

like when you hear the songs I’d sing

or see flowers that I bought.

I hope that when you get good news,

you know I’d love to hear it.

I hope that you can own your truth-

and know better than to fear it.

And when “only the good remains”,

that’s what you said so I’ll believe it,

I hope we’ve licked our wounds and feel no pain

The past can stay now, where we leave it.

love poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Amber Grace

A Los Angeles transplant from Maine, Amber finds meaning through creativity. Amber makes art to better understand herself and others, and to expand on the things that make us all oh-so- human.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.