Poets logo

Our Home

Grateful For Our Home

By Jessica Wilson Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Our Home
Photo by Nathan Fertig on Unsplash

Our home is where I belong

After days of adventure

That seem to last so long

A place to return and to rest my head

To make sure that our bellies

Are nice and fed

With food so nourishing

And cooked at home

After I’ve gone out to my neighborhood

To simply roam

Amongst neighbours so kind

And dogs on their walk

Saying a quick hello

Or a quick neighbourly talk

As I walk amongst the trees

Near my place called home

I never have to feel too alone

I can just simply

Go for a walk amoungst friends

On the many different paths

That don’t seem to ever end

And when I come home

And my love is here

We gather together and gather so near

The two of us, so cozy and warm

Together in our beautiful home

It’s a place to rest and a place to play

It’s our place to come home to

At the end of the day

Our home is a place

To take care of indeed

It’s something we love

And also something we need

If we all had a home

That would be wonderful

It’s a beautiful thing

That not everyone knows

I am so grateful

For our little sweet home

For the joys that it brings

And the comforts we know

That we have a roof over our head

And that our needs are met

And for the good memories we have

And those we haven’t formed yet

Our home may be tiny

But it’s all that we need

I can sit and sip coffee

While I peacefully read

It’s a tiny apartment

In the south west of town

It’s a sunny space

That we now know so well

It’s the simple little things

That make my heart sing

Like when our family calls

And I hear the phone ring

We can sit and talk

About how things are going

To encourage each other

By just simply phoning

My home is a place

Where I feel at home

It’s a place I’ve come to love

Not simply just know

This is my home on the good days

Hoping for more and more good days

love poems

About the Creator

Jessica Wilson

I'm passionate about mental health, nature, community, equality and respect.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jessica Wilson Written by Jessica Wilson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.