Poets logo

Otherworldly

Born to be Different

By Nicholle MichellePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Otherworldly
Photo by Craig Manners on Unsplash

I am a stranger in this place

Outdoors I feel at home

How on Earth did I end up here

So crowded and alone

These cultures are quite foreign

It's impossible to fit in

Their only common bond is war

I'm suffocating in this skin

At first I couldn't cry,

To do so would be “weak”

Even when I'd try...

Internal havoc would wreak

I'd be torn apart from inside

A prisoner to my mind

Programmed to hide

What I'm starting to find

That the mind is as fragile

As it is strong

It's plastic and agile

Nature didn't get it wrong

Capable of the unimaginable,

True human-defying feats

It seems so unfathomable

The outside solutions that you seek

What are you searching for?

That's going to fill that void?

In your greed you long for more

No matter what's being destroyed

Now, destruction is a part of growth,

That much is true

So, it's important how you apply it

In all you say and do

Please know I’m never one to judge,

I’m simply an observer,

Who speaks frank & honestly

With considerable fervor

I’m just here to be human

But not at all like you

We’re meant to trust our intuition

To decipher what is true

I'm here to dance within the storm

To try to show you how to live

Use the gifts with which you're born

Man, you've got so much to give

My presence has a purpose

I promise, so does yours

You must believe that you are worth it

Question everything until you're sure

Dig deep to find yourself

Buried under all of life’s debris

Remember you're never alone

Though the road feels lonely

It's okay to be an outcast

I know I'm not for everyone

Cause I remain steadfast

In curing what's been done

Not by waging wars

But understanding why I've come

To love unconditionally

Even when they say it can’t be done

I never claimed to be perfection

I’m just the bearer of my truth

And I knew that I was "Other"

When I stood out in my youth

Back then I didn’t understand

Why I always felt so much

I cursed my sensitivity

And I viewed it as a crutch

But now I use my senses

To discover what's been hidden

The reason behind our existence

And this vessel we are given

While landing here was difficult

I choose to still remain

Because I have freedom in my bones

And magick in my veins

I will use these truths of mine

To help heal humanity

Cause I too, have been programmed

By a sick society

The only medicine I’ve found

Is harnessing my authenticity

Showing up exactly as I am

Is how I was meant to be

I may be just a visitor

Whose trip is temporary

But home is where the heart is

And within me it is carried

Copyright © Nicholle Michelle 2019

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.