Poets logo

Open

Trying something new

By Bex JordanPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
5
Real? (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

I have to remind myself

to open my eyes

sometimes,

because I've had

to close them tight

for so long,

I forget I'm living

Openly now,

showing myself

to those I love,

No longer locked

In the dark,

No longer in a place

I’m trying to forget…

And when I kiss you

I can open to see

You're so

breathtakingly beautiful,

It's almost too much

for my silly little heart

to believe–

And I don't have to picture

A gorgeous woman

While I close my eyes

To whomever

Might be

In front of me,

Because there you are!

In all your glory,

even more stunning

than I could have imagined…

And here I am!

Showing you

The true me

(To the best of my

ability).

The person you're seeing

Is as close as I've

Ever come

To being the reality,

(even if I'm still figuring out

what that means).

But there's so much

Risk there,

More than ever before;

You have so many

Obligations, while I

Am just

An option.

Maybe that should be

Comforting, that you would choose

To be here when

You have so much

Already,

but I’m afraid;

One wrong move

And I could so easily

Be abandoned

(again).

How do I know

You won’t leave

When I'm not giving you

Everything you could want?

And if you do reject me,

It's not some

Amalgam of

Pieces I think you

Want to see,

my interpretation of

your “perfect partner,”

But myself,

This inner me I've

Been hiding, protecting

After being

Hurt

So many times…

But here we are,

And we’ve come so far,

And you’ve shown

In a myriad of ways

Your honesty,

Your good heart,

Your open eyes,

So I’ll stay

(instead of my

Signature Move

of silently running away)

I’ll see where we go,

And learn to trust

In this moment

of

us.

inspirationallove poems
5

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • J. R. Lowe4 months ago

    You can tell this has come straight from the heart. Very authentic! ❤️

  • Amanda Starks4 months ago

    This is so raw and wholesome!! Very relatable and I love the flow as if you are talking to this person directly ( and the little extra thoughts in the brackets was the cherry on top for me! ).

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Very realistic and emotional

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Gorgeous...simply gorgeous...lots to unpack...lots of emotion...raw...you've put it all out there and a cool pic too! Clicked incredibly quickly when saw notification! Well done, as always, on being you and sharing yourself....the raw you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.