Poets logo

Open For Business

Combating Lockdown Fatigue by Getting Outside

By Misty RaePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
4

I've heard some places are returning to normal or close to normal, but here in Ontario, Canada, we've just started yet another shutdown, the third one we've had, as Covid cases rise to alarming levels yet again. Maybe the third time's the charm, as the old saying goes, but after my initial disappointment at the thought of standing in yet another line, to buy yet another "thing", I decided to shift my mindset and see this latest crisis as an opportunity and headed out of town into a place I haven't been for a while. I hopped into old "Bernice," my trusty, ancient and less than attractive, but perfectly serviceable van, armed with a cooler full of goodies, tackle and a fishing rod.

Now, I'm no fisherman/fisherwoman. In fact, it's been a good 25 years since I've tossed a hook into the water, but as I said to my husband, it was "something to do" at a time when the typical things we do are off limits, no gyms, no salons, no theatres, no dinners out. You'd think we'd have gotten used to this way of being by now, but no, not really. It was just starting to come back, and BAM, it was gone again. Funny how you miss things that you don't really care about. I was never one to go out much. In fact, the chances of finding me at a restaurant or theatre, let alone a gym, are, and always have been slim to none, but having the option taken away, again, was like a kick in the gut.

So off we went, and as I sat out there, in nature, as the river flowed along in front of me, I somehow gained a new perspective, and this poem kind of fell out of me, which explains how I feel right now. Yeah, we're in a lockdown, but we have so much to be grateful for, so much to explore, and so much to enjoy:

The sun on my face is warm

No jacket required,

As I sit quietly by the river’s edge.

FIshin’s no good.

Too early, I guess,

And the ground’s too cold for worms.

I inhale deeply,

A mix of wet thawing earth and crispness of new life.

I put down my rod,

Basking in the glorious freedom

Only Mother Nature Provides.

There’s no one around for miles,

No traffic,

No lines,

Not a soul clamoring to get inside to pick up “just one more thing”.

It’s just me and The Mother,

Briefly,

Momentarily,

Unaware of the troubles around us,

Because SHE is open for business.

nature poetry
4

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Coleabout a year ago

    Lovely way of coping, and lovely piece to read as it becomes a memory of that time❣️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.