Poets logo

Oops.. Merry Christmas!

A Quatern. I was scolded once. Was once enough for me.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
4
Oops.. Merry Christmas!
Photo by Tom Rickhuss on Unsplash

This Quatern poem has 16 lines broken up into 4 quatrains (or 4-line stanzas).

Each line is comprised of eight syllables.

The first line is the refrain. In the second stanza, the refrain appears in the second line; in the third stanza, the third line; in the fourth stanza, the fourth (and final) line. There are no rules for rhyming or iambics. Writer's Digest, Robert Lee Brewer

My attempt at a Quatern:

Merry Xmas

I did write Xmas on a post.

Sounded as though I would be toast.

Didn't know I could be scolded

for writing a note I folded.

~

I had tree with lights and a roast

I did write Xmas on a post.

Being lazy and used shorthand

I thought I can't do a handstand.

~

At Christmas time all should be kind

Tough time of year, much on my mind.

I did write Xmas on a post.

Who will get excited the most.

~

I don't care, Christmas or Xmas

Respect for all, and no mass

Not Christian, but I do not boast

I did write Xmas on a post.

~~~~

I went to Snopes to find out if Xmas is disrespectful to Christmas, Christ, or Christians. The following is how Snopes responded:

Actually, this usage is nearly as old as Christianity itself, and its origins lie in the fact that the first letter in the Greek word for 'Christ' (Christós) is 'chi,' and the Greek letter 'chi' is represented by a symbol similar to the letter 'X' in the modern Roman alphabet (Χριστός). Hence 'Xmas' is indeed a legitimate abbreviation for the word 'Christmas' (just as 'Xian' is also sometimes used as an abbreviation of the word 'Christian').

None of this means that Christians (and others) aren't perhaps justified in feeling a little miffed when people take the shortcut of writing 'Xmas' rather than 'Christmas,' but the abbreviation was not created specifically for the purpose of demeaning Christ, Christians, Christianity, or Christmas -- rather, it's a very old artifact of a very different language. Snopes

performance poetryHoliday
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Oh wow, I didn't know that backstory for Xmas. Also, I loved your poem!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Depends on my mood how I write it tbh. I don't get offended if someone shorthands

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.