Poets logo

Oops. I Looked… 👀

By Colleen WaltersPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
3

” If we’re ever in a serious situation, do not look over at me.”

We all have that one friend….Someone says something unexpected, or we’re singing and somebody sings the wrong lyrics, and we struggle to contain it. And then, oops the lid pops and we’re off- bursting at the seams with hilarity. By now our composure has left the room, completely embarrassed.

And we seriously can’t help it. There is that one friend that we feel comfortable with, that gets us and we get them, who communicates in our secret language without speaking , where just a sideways glance will incite a child-like expression of giggling and laughter.

Everything is an adventure with that one friend. Even the mundane becomes animated , when our personalities are lurking right below the surface, watching and waiting intently for “ the look”, an unconscious and unscripted trigger that sets us off. It can be a facial expression or just a sideways look, but it is a recipe for disaster where laughing would be frowned upon. And it’s in those situations that it’s the hardest to keep a straight face and look straight ahead.

My story “Unblanketng” led to song titles that Fall may sing. I thought they were rather clever, so we decided to put the melody to them. I do recordings with my whistle and I confess that it can take at least forty takes to produce a flawless video- ok not flawless, but the best of whatever I can muster. I’ll get a squeak on the first note or sometimes realize I’ve drifted off and I’m not even playing the right song anymore- apparently took a left turn and ended up playing another melody altogether. My bad. Or my cat will jump up on the desk and stare into my phone as it’s recording.

So recording the melody for the Unblanketing song titles didn’t disappoint on the multiple attempts attempted… The “song” we’re singing is the song titles from the story comments, Oh Sweet Cider, Falling Into You, Bring Your Fleece, Pumpkin Face, When Summer Falls. I don’t know what number this attempt was…

We all have that one friend…

And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

performance poetrySong LyricshumorFriendship
3

About the Creator

Colleen Walters

i’m just a girl in Florida who likes to write things, inspired by events and people in my life.

When I grow up, I want to be a kid again.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.