Poets logo

Only My Shadow Knows

poem by me

By JessiePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

    My shadow, tiptoes beside me

Shes with me everyday

When I'm full of rage,

She takes control, handing me a bat.

Trying to convince me

To break out of my mental cage.

Sometimes i embrace her

Other times i wish her away.

But only her shadow knows the truth....

   She was great at acting like she was perfectly okay,

She could smile so brightly and you'd never know she wants to go away.

Smiling was her best way to fake, while hurting was her only way to cope

   Her shadow is the only one who knows.

So in case you didn't see,

This girl lying through the smiles is actually just me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.