Poets logo

One of Those Days

Sunrise smears its rays on my eyes

By Harydo NeonPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

Sunrise smears its rays on my eyes

Big guy expects our daily appointment

Missed, while I check my phone, checking ties

Checking texts, going downstairs, missing self contentment

Not really, just kidding, while writing

Sunk in my comfort bed, doing what I do best, Overthinking

Thoughts, seeds in my mind that bear no budding

Slips into sadness, still 7 a.m. and I know the day would be wasted

I spend the day thinking profound thoughts

Slipping into bad habits, my addictions

A day programmed to be reproductive in different ways

Just happens to be one of those days

At the end I stand in the mirror in disgust

As sadness rushes from my head to my loins

Why did my life get this bad?

When did I strike a deal with Mr. Sad

Once I was a happy face

Now I know not my own fate

And the end, be it as it may

Is just "one of those days"

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Harydo Neon

I drain my thoughts through my pen. That's the only way I breathe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.