Poets logo

One More Date

The Park

By Sender Jeannestal Published about a month ago 1 min read
2

Sorry darling but my pockets ain’t deep enough for a five star retreat

So a small picnic will have to carry us through

A park by a lake that’s the theme

The smell of oak trees and fresh cut green grass wishes me well

Under a spell of dancing dandelions matches my energy

As a lay down the blanket I hope you don’t run away

Please stay whispers from the blue bird

As we talk about our day I’m careful on every word.

Looking up the sky gazing at the eagles punching through clouds wishing I could take you up there

You don’t seem to care

A turkey sandwich is just enough.

In addicted to your smile and how you eat

Afraid to talk about my dreams

Being labeled as a joke haunts my soul

Fear you’ll get bored as we grow old.

You put my head on your lap and started playing with my locs

My heart locked in box of trauma

The key is up the horizon with God

Our eyes met and I saw my mama.

Your skin feels comfortable

Not single goose bump

If this peace why am I so nervous?

As I took a long deep breath

I saw the earth

A tear rolled down the face of a Virgo

One more date

At my place.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Sender Jeannestal

✍🏾 writings from a poor man’s dream

tips

PayPal: [email protected]

Venmo: @JeanSender

Twitter: @RatedP4PoetryX

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    I love this. I don't know if you were going for subtle, sweet romanticism, but I got it. Keep writing, please!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.