Poets logo

One Minute Romance

more than one lifetime to forget

By Brenton FPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read

jammed in the train with so many others

i looked up and saw you standing there

it was either lean on or be leaned on

standing only, no empty seats anywhere

you looked up and caught my gaze

the softest smile lit your face

at first i though it couldn’t be me

i felt almost out of place

upon realising you knew i knew

you shyly looked away

you looked back and then i knew

something passed between us both that day

totally above board and respectable

we knew and understood the inevitable

something warm, bold, cool and special

something totally, completely unforgettable

we wined and dined in my imagination

we danced and beamed, heated infatuation

this will never lead to my heart or to my bed

it’s just a one minute romance in my head

we whispered together behind our commuter faces

as we courted each other with our eyes

i took your hand and you looked at me and said

this is just a one minute romance in my head

and to this day i still see your smile

every time i board a train

if i’m feeling sad i’ll take a bus instead

cause i still got that one minute romance in my head

love poems

About the Creator

Brenton F

I find it easier to bare ones soul than it is to provide a less than adequate bio

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Blunt eat your heart out *ducks and runs away*

  • Awww, this was so sweet and lovely! Loved your wonderful poem!

  • Andrew C McDonald10 months ago

    Brenton, this is definitely one of your better poems. I love the imagery and thoughtfulness. I can feel the connection the mc had there, even if only in his own head. Fantastic work my friend.

  • Brin J.10 months ago

    "just a one minute romance inside my head." I like that phrase. I do that a lot. Nothing to ever act on, just as you said- a one minute romance inside my head.

  • Test10 months ago

    Beautiful and hopeful. Loved it💙Anneliese

  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    sounds like a magical train ride

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    I hope you find her again! Sounds very romantic! Good job!

Brenton FWritten by Brenton F

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.