Poets logo

One Final Season

Challenge #5 You’ve Got Mail

By James U. RizziPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
7
One Final Season
Photo by Cameron Bunney on Unsplash

The challenge prompt is to start a story/poem with the last line of an email or letter you recently received.

Ok so this one was a lot harder than I thought, and honestly a lot more fun. I set the goal of picking a single email and sticking with the last line no matter what. I really wanted the challenge (especially after making the affirmative decision to do a poem) but after the fifth, If you have any questions or inquiries please contact us here. I decided to ease up and broaden my spectrum. I landed on a rare and infrequent email from Netflix announcing that they’re shutting down their DVD division. The email ending with the line you see below. This for some silly/weird reason made me sad (don’t laugh at me k). Maybe it sparked some still-fastened sadness I held for the departure of Blockbuster (greatest place on earth). After all, you know what they say: grief never goes away, it only changes. (Not sad for Netflix they’ll be aight). So with that quick spark of disparaging inspiration, it got me thinking about grief in general. And how the line: We truly appreciate you being part of our final season: Taken in a different context can be quite powerful, especially when talking about missing someone or something

Also, RIP Blockbuster, gone but never forgotten

____________________________________________________

We truly appreciate you being part of our final season

I begged for solace

You gifted reason

Like a tree that grows and whisks away

Not gone forever just parting ways

Like wandering tales of broken night

I pray for darkness

You gave me light

Empty, broken, fairly but there

Sorrow grows, in the grace we once shared

Maddening disparity replaced by your absence

Clutching the hurt of why this all happened

In solace, I found by touch of loose tether

Just because you're gone

Doesn’t mean I won’t love you forever

This isn’t cruelty, this isn’t treason

Blessed in gratitude for giving me.

One last season

For the full list of challenges new and current, along with some info on James and Oneg's Writing Extravaganza Challenge check out the master post below:

love poemsheartbreak
7

About the Creator

James U. Rizzi

I cant wait to see what I can create here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Saying goodbye to something / someone we love is always difficult. Very well done!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    This poem is a gem! And I feel wistful about Blockbuster too 😔

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    I miss Blockbuster 😌. It's a shame they didn't jump onboard when they had the chance. Nice entry, James. I felt it.

  • Whoaaa, I didn't expect it to get so deep and emotional! This was awesomeeee!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    James, brilliant and beautiful love and heartbreak all rolled into one!!! Loved this!!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    That was fly! Great job James!

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    This is so darn beautiful man, you gonna make me cry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.