Poets logo

One Day

a poem dedicated to my Dad

By Susan DownsPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
My Dad and Me

One Day

I looked for you

and you weren't there...

I checked the RecRoom

and under the stairs.

I searched the storage house

the attic too

That's funny...I must miss you.

I went to the backyard,

Walked the nearest park

set down on a bench

and began to think...

In all of the places

In every face

not one resembled

a trace of you.

I looked for your love

They said the price

would be high-

I paid them no mind

I had nothing but time

I had love on my side-

I had a Lion's pride-

I had you as my guide-

I had you, til you died-

I had...a...fog

...over my right eye.

...til the moon rises

...at noon, cries

...the Loon.

A Bird heard?

We hope...

I look...

We wait...

I stay...

We think...

I pray...

ONE DAY!!!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    This made me sad. My dad is aging so fast that it scares me to think how much time I have with him. Beautiful poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.