Poets logo

one day

but that day isn't today

By Skylar WhitneyPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1

one day, we'll meet and

the timing will just be

right

//

one day, we'll be 

so enamoured by 

one another's presence, that

we won't even notice as

day slowly fades into night

//

one day, I'll heal 

the wounds of ancient battles

and you're not the cure, but

you'll kiss my scars until

their scorch no longer burns

one day, for you,

I'll do the same

//

one day, I won't break or

be left in shambles when

in passing, 

someone calls out your name

//

one day, my final thought

before succumbing to sleep

will no longer be of regret

because next to me is you

eyes peacefully closed,

body heavy in my sheets

//

one day, we'll forget 

this period of tension

one day, my love for you

won't even be a question

//

one day, you will read

until you finally understand

I've always known it'd be you - 

the one holding my hand

as through each walk of

life, we embark

each step an adventure;

each journey a new mark

on this map we've created - 

a pouring of two hearts

of devotion, dedication

it'll be where our lives truly start

//

one day, we'll commit 

one day, it might happen

one day, I will love you

one day, we'll succumb to the passion

love poems
1

About the Creator

Skylar Whitney

Introvert at heart. Lover of journaling, free-verse poetry, and poutine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.