Poets logo

One Day

A memory

By Ruby G.Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
"...they took me to the top of the clock tower and I could see their entire city from up above...It was one of the most beautiful sights I had ever seen."

Do you ever miss someone you’ve only met once?

Someone who you knew you may never see again after that first day together.

But that one day was all it took to change you forever.

That someone for me, was a little girl in Bratislava.

I was on tour with my college choir and one stop was in Slovakia.

We stayed in host homes, and I was paired with a woman and her daughter.

They lived in a small, humble abode. Only one bedroom for the both of them.

Yet that night, they insisted that they slept in the living room so I could have a bed.

They didn’t have much, but they gave me all they could.

And I never felt more at home.

They took me all around their little village. Had me try crepes.

Then they took me to the top of the clock tower and I could see their entire city from up above.

It was one of the most beautiful sights I had ever seen.

The little girl couldn’t stop talking to me, and I didn’t want her to.

She was wise for her age. And very outspoken. One of the many qualities she and I shared.

She was also an only child. And so am I.

That night we went back to their home and I let her braid my hair.

Her mother watched with tears in her eyes.

She had told me earlier that her little girl had always wanted a big sister.

I had always wanted a younger sister.

So for that one night, we were for each other what we could never have again.

She was only twelve years old at the time. She’s about fourteen now.

I wonder how she’s changed.

Im sure she’s blowing all the kids at school away with a mind as sharp as hers.

…Does she even still remember me?

Does she still have the gift I gave her that night?

Probably not, and that’s okay.

She has much more to worry about than a girl she knew for barely a day.

But I don’t think I’ll ever forget her.

Nor would I ever want to.

I have a photo of her an I, and I’ll look at it sometimes.

Everything comes flooding back when I do.

My heart swells with joy at the memories,

As well as a longing deep within, wishing to see her again.

I don’t know if I’ll ever get to in this life,

But I hope and pray the next.

To V, the little girl in Bratislava, who’s not so little anymore.

There’s not much I can say,

Except thank you

For being my sister of one day.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ruby G.

A woman with a pen in her hand and stories to tell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.