Poets logo

Once Upon A Time

Our time together ended

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 2 min read
2
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Once upon a time we spent time together

You were my primary school best friend,

Until my little sister’s envy and jealousy

Saw Mum bring our friendship to an end.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

My teenage years’ bestie, part of my soul,

We had some amazing days and nights

Until life got in the way, out of our control.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

The absolute joyful love of my young life,

Until life threw us too many curve balls

We could not ever become man and wife.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

Thinking we had all the time in the world,

Young and foolishly taking it all for granted

Time was not kind as it bound by in a whirl.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

A lover dreaming of us getting married,

Life was good, oh boy it was so very good

Until you up and ran, leaving me worried.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

I was in awe of your singing on the stage,

We loved and we laughed for many months

But sadly we were never on the same page.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

A white wedding, a walk down the aisle,

But you didn’t have a heart, nor feelings

A violet streak, marriage was not your style.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

A hero saving me from my traumatic night,

Lavishing me with love for that brief time

Allowing me to overcome my latest fight.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

Although it wasn’t all that good of a time,

You were to be my future baby’s daddy

Until you decided fatherhood was not fine.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

As a native of our glorious sunburnt land,

You taught me more than you’ll ever know

Until life branched off to a path unplanned.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

As a substitute father figure, best friend,

Our history will always be precious to me

As you suddenly left this plane in the end.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

Our happiness a blessing or so I thought,

Then you disappeared without a word

Leaving me in pain and terribly distraught.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

As you gave me both joy and heartache,

I was at times the happiest I’d ever been

And others I was a mess you liked to break.

***

Once upon a time we spent time together

Every goodbye broke me and took its toll,

So now I prefer to spend my time alone

Taking back all the tears, sadness life stole.

****************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was so sad but very relatable

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.