Poets logo

She Needed Love

Her weakness would be her demise

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I watch her as she breaks, devastated

And there it is, during this difficult time,

An innate ability to understand who she is

And what it is that makes her a paradigm.

***

I love her heart, that wonderful goodness

No that’s not true, it’s a beautiful heart,

But one that has been burned, tortured

Until she hides, looking for a fresh start.

***

She was treated brutally, until she broke

All because she thought she needed love,

I cried at the unfairness, the horrid pain

More than we could ever conceive of.

***

It was her bad childhood from the start

And the heartbreak of lovers that cheat,

That turned her into a tortured beast

So she’d never ever again bow to defeat.

***

She now refuses to take shit from anyone

As she weaves in and out through her day,

She no longer has the ability to feel fear

Head held high regardless of all they say.

***

She holds her closest secret to her chest

That one lonely fear she cannot put to rest,

The fear of ending up solely on her own

Feeling she’d always be alone, she stressed.

***

This fear’s her weakness, her possible demise

I fear it may even be her total self destruction,

I try to tell her she’s stronger than her fear

That it’s her final hurdle, her final obstruction.

***

She is a bad ass woman, the strongest yet

I struggle to convince her of this actual fact,

She feels she cannot survive without love

While sacrificing herself, trying to distract.

***

I fear she will wither away slowly in the process

Of finding the love she’s convinced she needs,

Will she be the cause of her total destruction

As she opens her heart and allows it to bleed?

******************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

social commentary
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was amazing!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous!!!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.