Poets logo

On The Lost Pond

For my long lost

By Octovo Libra Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
On The Lost Pond
Photo by Timothy Dykes on Unsplash

There is not much to say, from me to you

Except I can’t be to you, as if I were there all along

I do not sorrow at present at this lost truth

That I were a brother, to so many others, all along

How many there are, I know nothing of,

But I know there are a few out there on the lost pond

They want me I’m sure of it, I hear the choir of the gentle frogs

My siblings siren the song for me, to the lost pond

They hope to house me on the lily pad, with them to belong;

To my long lost, I have been lost for so long

The blustery of fate, rid memories from my pate

I do not recollect, I know not what my heart longs

To my long lost, I will be gone from you,’til the egret wake;

Bid you not come, I am feed, for the egret to stave away,

Bid you not come, I am a hill of leaves, that raked away;

I am undeserving of concern, of your love and beauty,

I do not belong on the lilies of your memory, for I fear I encroach,

That I, a heavy frog, would sink on’t before he’d think to croak

I belong, I know, I belong elsewhere,

In the presence of the low and trodden, where none—but hate—is fair

love poems

About the Creator

Octovo Libra

Instagram: @libracymbaspoems

Twitter : @libracymbalspoems

And my poetry Hell Is Like A Dog Kennel and other poems

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Octovo Libra Written by Octovo Libra

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.