Poets logo

On the asphalt river

a car sped by

By Denise DavisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

On the asphalt river winding through my city

a car sped by,

its driver

- determined to arrive I do not know where -

claimed space for self

inches from me

perched on two wheels.

I stopped

pushed my bike through long grass

and left it

under a sweet gum tree.

With one leap

I claimed space on rock

a flat piece resting

in the creek winding through my life.

Boxelder branches above, a limestone cliff opposite,

a single dragonfly,

poised - translucent wings spread - on a slender twig,

greeted me.

Home, she said,

you are home.

I know, I said,

I know,

Even though I dared not touch water:

Poisoned,

holy no more to humans

who claim space along its edges.

nature poetry

About the Creator

Denise Davis

A Manhattan-toasted, Kentucky marinated, Southern Californian, this 60+ year old woman has studied writing, taught writing and admired writing. It's time to actually begin writing. We shall see how this goes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Great poem! I love dragonfly’s!

Denise DavisWritten by Denise Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.