Poets logo

On My Hill

The hill where I found peace and clarity

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Freiderich Wilderness Park, 09/12/2021

On this grassy hill I sit and write

I write about the memories that I experienced here

I used to come here to contemplate my life

Only to find more questions than answers

Here I sit once more remembering

The resentments I felt so deeply

I felt cheated

By friends, family and by life

I remember my affections being turned down

And watching her affections go to another man

A man I thought was my friend

Truth is he was my friend

It was my envy that turned my tongue venomous

I could never be happy for another who got what I wanted

But not what I needed or deserved

How many years, months did I waste

Holding on to seething pain

Pain that burned a hole in my heart

While they moved forward in their lives

My own choices were always my undoing

Blaming others is easy

Finding out you were the one to blame is a

much harder pill to swallow

I am reminded daily the karmic energy I used to put out

I strive to only put out healing energy now

The world has enough chaotic karma

I’ve had enough of the chaos.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.