Poets logo

On Failure

There's no need for shame

By S. A. CrawfordPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
4
Photo by Анна Рыжкова via Pexels

I failed again today with a smile on my face.

Watching the tide wash away my work...

I did not scramble to make a case,

to neutralize the truth.

For life is not a race.

It's a marathon.

A ramble -

a walk through winding woods,

and I have learned the difference between should and could.

Perhaps I should be sad,

or crumble to the floor.

But in the ashes of the old,

I see the chance for more.

I can fail again and again,

and wipe my bloody brow,

with rags of past acclaim,

or simply watch the clouds -

There is no shame in failing,

whether there is fault or not.

The mountain I am climbing is beautiful,

even if I never see the top.

performance poetry
4

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Addison M8 months ago

    Very nice. A little dash of inspiration ✨️

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    We have all faced failure. It is how we respond to it that matters. Thank you for this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.